Saturday, January 05, 2008

It's About Time, Dammit


Add Most Valuable Player to all the other accolades Tom Brady has been collecting.


The New England Patriots' record-setting quarterback drew all but one vote Saturday in romping to The Associated Press 2007 NFL MVP award in the same manner his team romped through its schedule, going 16-0. On the way to the first unbeaten regular season since Miami went 14-0 in 1972, Brady put on a performance for the ages.

Note, no MVP in the seven years prior has gone on to win the Super Bowl (thanks in part to Brady and the Pats, of course).

2007 -- Tom Brady, New England, QB
2006 -- LaDainian Tomlinson, San Diego, RB
2005 -- Shaun Alexander, Seattle, RB
2004 -- Peyton Manning, Indianapolis, QB
2003 -- Peyton Manning, Indianapolis, and Steve McNair, Tennessee, QBs
2002 -- Rich Gannon, Oakland, QB
2001 -- Kurt Warner, St. Louis, QB
2000 -- Marshall Faulk, St. Louis, RB

Kurt Warner was the last MVP to pick up a ring (1999).